CofC Logo

2016-2017 Award Winners

HSS Scholars

The School of Humanities and Social Sciences honors graduating seniors who have distinguished themselves by amassing an impressive body of work during their undergraduate careers. Typically, recipients of HSS Scholar awards are students who, in addition to excelling in regular courses, undertake one or more substantial research projects (such as a Bachelor’s Essay or a project done in an Independent Study course).

The following two English students were recipients of this award as voted on by the English department faculty.

Click here to find out about the other HSS Scholars.

Outstanding Students

This award recognizes outstanding English majors. The recepients of this award are voted on by the English department faculty.

  • Rachel Ainsley Davis
  • Ashley De Peri
  • Nicole Hill
  • Christina Lilly
  • Tamara McRary
  • Lauren Mitchell
  • Emelie Nilsson
  • Allyson Plessner
  • Alaina Rink
  • Emily Wilson
  • Matthew Woodward

Anna B. Katona Award in American Literature

This award is named for Dr. Anna B. Katona a longtime professor of English at the College of Charleston (1975-1999). Dr. Katona provided funds for a grant to the College that annual recognizes the graduating English major with the highest average in American Literature courses.

  • Jackson Truschel

First-Year Writing Awards

In 2008 the department established this annual contest to encourage and recognize excellent writing and critical thinking. All students enrolled in English 110, Honors 110, or English 215 are eligible to submit papers for the contest. The winning papers are chosen by the First-Year Writing Committee in the Department of English based on excellence of writing and the reflection of First-Year Writing curricular goals.

"A Fable of Love: Life Is Beautiful" by Joshua Petro

"On the Lookout for Escapists: How Firewatch Sheds Light on American Escapism" by Stefan Schwinn

"Has Our Culture Really Changed? Advertisements Say No" by Raegan Whiteside

The College of Charleston Creative Writing Awards


1st Prize: Jozie Konczal, "Ode to Morning"

2nd Prize: Benjamin Moses, "The Lynching Tree of Charleston"

Honorable Mention: Anna Britton, "Yes, he makes me smile but"


1st Prize: Dylan Magruder, "I'm Gonna Be a Fireman When the Floods Roll Back"

2nd Prize: Iliana Simmons, "Hero's Story"

Honorable Mention: Nicole Hill, "The Lie"