CofC Logo

2014-2015 Award Winners

HSS Scholars

The School of Humanities and Social Sciences honors graduating seniors who have distinguished themselves by amassing an impressive body of work during their undergraduate careers.

The following two English students were recipients of this award.

Previous HSS Scholar Winners

Outstanding Students

This award recognizes outstanding English majors.

  • Kaysey Bolin
  • Kelly Dillon
  • Hannah Evans
  • Jeffrey Martin
  • Hannah McDermett
  • Britney Rogers

Departmental Honors

Awarded to students who have at least a 3.5 GPA in all major coursework, and who have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours of exceptionally fine work in any combination of independent study, seminar, and bachelor's essay.

  • Aaron Clark
  • Hannah Evans
  • Brooke Fortune
  • Elizabeth Gerdes
  • Valerie Keller
  • Jeffrey Martin
  • Kaya Mead

Anna B. Katona Award in American Literature

This award is named for Dr. Anna B. Katona a longtime professor of English at the College of Charleston (1975-1999). Dr. Katona provided funds for a grant to the College that annual recognizes the graduating English major with the highest average in American Literature courses.

  • Leah Anderson

First-Year Writing Awards

In 2008 the department established this annual contest to encourage and recognize excellent writing and critical thinking. All students enrolled in English 110, Honors 110, or English 215 are eligible to submit papers for the contest. The winning papers are chosen by the First-Year Writing Committee in the Department of English based on excellence of writing and the reflection of First-Year Writing curricular goals.

WINNER: "Defining Disabilities: Deficiency or Diversity?" by Rachel Nichols

RUNNER-UPS: "Woman Warrior: An Analysis of Trinity from The Matrix" by Lydia Brown, "Lost in a Clock" by Jessica Moon

HONORABLE MENTIONS: "Homosexuatliy as a Catalyst" by Jordan Carter, "Run, Hipster, Run" by Caroline Kelly, "Depicting Women in Soviet and US Second World War Propaganda Posters" by Kate Miz, "An Online Identity" by Abigail Tierney